All Things Horse

Forty-seven Years Of Horse Experience – At Your Service!

Blue Hors Matine – the ‘Dancing Mare’ Dies At Age 13

Blue Hors Matine, the horse dubbed the ‘Dancing Mare’, in a previous post, died today at age 13, after breaking her leg in the field, at her home.

The Danish Warmblood mare had been retired last August, after Las Vegas World Cup Competition, in 2009, when she slipped while off loading her trailer.  She suffered long term tendon injuries.

Blue Hors Matine was expected to continue as a broodmare. The horse forums around the world are saddened by this unexpected turn of events. People think she was in foal and due to give birth soon. But I read on one site that she was to be inseminated this coming spring by another of the Blue Hors horses. To me, it just didn’t make sense that they not attempt to save the foal. It would have been difficult but surely conceivable.  I believe her impending motherhood was nothing more than a rumor. An error on the part of one of the news wires.

Foto: Ridehesten.com

She was in her home field with her buddy Blue Hors Cavan, when a passerby noticed that she had been injured and reported it to the stable staff, it was said.  The veterinarian put her down because she had broken her off foreleg at the knee joint, shortly after.

What a sad day for the world of the show horse! Accidents happen, but strangely enough I feel somewhat disconnected and at a loss because of the death of Matine. I will never have the chance to meet her and watch as she dances her way into more hearts. I feel almost like I’ve lost one of my own.  What a sad day it is, indeed!

The mare sky-rocketed to fame after winning the 2006 World Equestrian Games in Aachen, winning the Grand Prix Freestyle with Andreas Helgstrand. The following video is the winning ride.

Blue Hors Matine, by Blue Hors Silver Moon also took the Bronze at the games for the Grand Prix Special.

This video has seen around 10 million views to date, since it was put up on YouTube. I imagine it will be seen by another 10 million now that she is dead.

January 25, 2010 - Posted by | show event |

13 Comments »

  1. I feel a sense of loss and cried as much for her and Andreas as I would if I lost my beloved mare’, a registered Morgan broodmare. I’m certain Matine and Barbaro are running together in a lush pasture somewhere above!

    Comment by Claire Muskus | March 5, 2010

  2. I think is a very sad loss…..I ride horses and I understand how bad he must still feel about this loss. This horse was a very happy horse and that I bet this horse is happy above still today though. Once again, Sorry for this loss!!

    Comment by Brandon | May 16, 2010

  3. allthingshorse.wordpress.com is the best website since the invention of the lightbulb

    scrambled minds think alike:
    It is remarkable, very good piece

    Comment by work at home income834 | July 15, 2010

  4. She’s dancing with angels now. Please heavenly father send a few down here to warm our hearts like she did . . . thank you Andreas Helstrand for the beauty you brought to this world with Blue Hors Matine. We love you both forever!

    Comment by andre and tracy thier | February 2, 2011

  5. I couldn’t have said it better myself. Thanks Andre and Tracy Thier!

    Comment by GimmeADream | February 2, 2011

  6. I love BLue Hose Matine’ She was the Dancing Queen. I wish I could of seen her in person. She was and is beautiful! She is in Rainbow Heaven Dancing. She was gorgeous and still is. She is so beautiful I have pics. of her in my one guestroom and one breyer horses of her too. God Bless Her! I love you Blue Hose Matine’ Beautiful!

    Comment by Rachel | February 16, 2011

  7. She was one of a kind, an artist of the highest quality, Rachel. I’m sure your guest room is very special. Thanks you for visiting and commenting.

    Wynn

    Comment by GimmeADream | February 16, 2011

  8. I feel so sorry for andreas. This must be a terrible loss for you and only at 13 years old. If this happened to one of my horses i know i would be devistated for the rest of my life. I would still know that they are in a better place and sheaccomplished so much that yo couldnt have wanted her to do anything more. Blue Hors Matine, you are beautiful and i hope you are as happy as you always were!

    Comment by Horse lover!! | June 30, 2011

  9. I am crying at the loss of a great and magnifcent animal. To watch her perform is
    magical and it lifts the soul and spirit. If I am this upset I can’t even imagine how
    hurt the people closet to her are. To them I offer my deepest condolences. She
    was like magic. The way she kept beat with her tail was fascinating. She looked like
    she enjoyed herself. She will never be forgotten by me I promise. Linda Raupp

    Comment by Linda Raupp | August 6, 2011

  10. She won’t be forgotten by me either, Linda. Matine was one of those greats who stands along side all the great sports horses. Thanks for commenting.

    Comment by GimmeADream | August 6, 2011

  11. I love Blue Hors Matine she is amazing good job with this mare

    Comment by leah | February 8, 2013

  12. I dont understand why they had to euthanize her, why not let her leg heal and let her spend her days at pasture?

    Comment by CS | October 7, 2013

  13. Hi CS, Unfortunately horses legs don’t heal, The only way that they could have helped her was to put a pin in it and support her with slings for months even then no guarantee.

    Comment by kate | January 18, 2014


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

