All Things Horse

Forty-seven Years Of Horse Experience – At Your Service!

Migraines – I think I’m Insane

Chronic migraines to be exact – Tip#1

I was 42 years and 22 days old when I got my first migraine.  I had never had even a headache before that day.  I remember thinking about Lizzy and the head aches she got before she died and I thought as I laid in bed, “My God, I must have a brain tumor…, like Lizzy!”
Lizzy (Elizabeth) and I were born the same date, less then an hour apart.  When Lizzy turned 17 years, she was having severe headaches.  She was diagnosed with a cancerous brain tumor and underwent surgery and treatment that must have included radiation and Chemo-therapy, because she lost her hair.  Her beautiful blond locks – gone.   That is a small price to pay for a cure…, except she wasn’t cured.  On our twenty-fourth birthday, Lizzy fell to the disease and was buried a few days later.
What do migraines have to do with horses!
Back track twenty-nine days.  On January 29th, I send my favorite and only horse, Copper, to PEI, only he never arrived.  My gentle pinto stayed in the barn of the man who was taking him, in Amherst.  After Copper left home in the horse box of a three-ton truck, a winter storm arose and the ferry, Lucy Maud Montgomery, failed to sail on time.  It had one round trip to sail, before being laid up for the winter but the weather was such that it couldn’t make a round trip and then return to the mainland for winter repairs for the next season.

So I spent the winter without a horse. No big deal or so I thought….

copper1
Fast forward to the year 2002, I finally sent Copper to PEI to the Giddy Up Pony Camp, to teach youngsters how to ride.  He was getting older and I was afraid the veterinarian bills would break me.  He was healthy but getting up there in years.  I think he was about twenty-two at the time.  The migraines got worse and I was under doctors care almost on a weekly basis.  I was taking every migraine medication available and a few that weren’t.  The migraine would last 72 hours or longer, but I was diagnosed with six different types of migraines and one would trigger the other.  So I ended up with migraines 24-7 for months…. I was a basket case and I really can understand why they call them suicide headaches.

Finally there was nothing to do but go through my past with a fine-toothed comb and see what triggered them.  What the doctor and I found was that I never seemed to have migraines when I’m around horses.

Gimme A Dream (The Real Deal)

Gimme A Dream (The Real Deal)

Some time after that I bought the horse, Gimme A Dream.  He arrived in December and since that month, whenever I feel a migraine coming on, instead of taking drugs, I go out and wrapped my arms around the big moose.  You know…, it worked!  So I bought the other horses and I don’t suffer from migraines too severely anymore.

Why am I insane?  I don’t think there is a medical or scientific theory to explain why being around horses helps me, but it does.  I still get migraines for sure….  We didn’t find the cause…, yet.  But when I get one I spend a lot more time with the horse and I feel a lot better for it.

The internet is great and the social networks have helped me to realize that I’m not the only one who uses horses to control certain maladies – arthritis, heart problems, emphysema, etc.  I heard a lot stories of other people keeping the big pets for a whole slew of reasons now.

Maybe I am insane but then again, maybe I’m not….

December 3, 2008 - Posted by | health, tack | , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. You are not insane at all. I just found your posting (and here it is 2010) because I was searching the internet to see if anyone else has had the same positive experience and relief. I have had friends who have had the same success. Bravo to you for putting this out there for the rest of us to feel validated in our same discovery!

    Comment by Mere | October 18, 2010

  2. Thank you so very much for your comment. It is so nice to have support from people such as yourself, Mere, that horses can help alleviate such problems. I don’t know what I’d do without my precious horses or the internet to help me get through such things.

    It seems that I’m slowly getting the migraines under some sort of control, hateful things. The horses still help an unbelievable amount. My doctor thinks they remove stress which is the trigger but the horses cause a lot of stress too, so I don’t think stress is a trigger for me. Besides I have a lot of job related stress, and don’t have headaches from that. But I still can’t say what the trigger is.

    Comment by GimmeADream | October 18, 2010


Leave a Reply

