All Things Horse

Forty-seven Years Of Horse Experience – At Your Service!

Equine Breathing As An Holistic Training Method – Does It Work?

I pay my psycologist with hay and potatoes…, and he stands there, the entire day, everyday, if necessary, listening to me rant and rave.  Not once have I heard him whine about how hard his day has been…, LOL! – Me!

Tip #8

Gimme A Dream is a nervous horse. All his nervous energy goes inside himself and it makes him sick. In most ways, he is a wonderful animal to be around. But when he becomes nervous, he will stand still and shake the weight right off his bones.

Gimme A Dream

Gimme A Dream

Last year was a reasonably nervous year for Dream.  Even though I owned him for quite a while, it was 2008 before he was moved to the islands. He was uptight about everything, particularly the beach. I owned Frilly by this time, but she was young and not on the islands.  So I thought I’d buy Willow, who was a rescue, to get both Dream and Frilly, when she arrived, ready for the beach.  I thought an older horse would help calm things down.

Instead of helping, little Willow put the heels to Dream, splitting an artery in his chest and sending us all into a panic.  A month later, I bought baby Sammy (Sam’s Pride) and brought both her and Frilly home at the same time.  Dream went spiraling down into a state of nervous depression and we spent our nights walking him because of signs of colic. 

Sammy was sick, but I didn’t know it.  However, Willow knew and didn’t want her around.  She passed this nervousness on to Dream, who continued to lose weight and have regular bouts of diarrhea.  When Sammy died, Dream knew it.  He could smell her death, even though I kept the horses away from the building.  He spent weeks reaching his head high into the air, sniffing and he continued to loose weight.  I would say, my Dream Boy had the equivalent of a nervous breakdown.

Summer came and the horses were put out on to the fresh pasture.  Just the change of locations made him nervous and he lost more weight.  I made arrangements to send him away, because he wasn’t settling in, even though he was wonderful to ride. 

In the end though, I kept him with the mares and myself, thinking another change wouldn’t be good for him.

I did a lot of research on the internet and found a sight which brought me to learning how to breathe properly.  The site had a link to equine breathing.  Of course I had to check it out.  There I found a lot of information on horse behaviour and much of it described my Gimme A Dream.  So I studied every word that the site had to say.  I watched every video and listened to all the audios, followed all the links.

Then I tried the techniques on Dream and you know…, this winter he finally started to gain the weight he had lost.  I started very slowly, only placing my hand over his nostril for a couple of seconds.  When he chose to stop, I stopped.  You know…, I think he gained all the weight back and then some.  He has had next to no nervous bouts.  I’m certainly pleased!

But to answer the question, does the holistic training method for equine breathing, actually work? I don’t know the answer.  There are far too many variables to work with, in our environment.  Maybe Dream is better because he is a year older.  Or, maybe it is because he has had no serious changes in his environment for four months.  I’m just thankful that he is not keeping me up at night, anymore.

Equine Breathing is an holistic training method that enables you to help your horses in their recovery from chronic ailments and behaviour problems. 

The idea behind Equine Breathing is that, for many different reasons, some horses start to breathe badly and the biochemical imbalances that arise can result in symptoms and behavioural problems. This idea has its origins in scientific studies of human respiration physiology and while equivalent scientific studies on horses have not yet been carried out trials by interested horse owners support its applicability to horses.nes_student_1n-3

Equine Breathing is a way of reminding and re-training the horse how to breathe correctly.  In horses that chronically over breathe, it is thought that carbon dioxide levels fall which can cause cell damage and eventually ill health.

Damage caused by low levels of carbon dioxide is reversible. So increasing carbon dioxide levels by re training and correcting the breathing encourages healing, and symptoms can diminish and disappear.  Equine Breathing training reduces the amount of air breathed in to a more natural and beneficial level which helps healing.

A simple way to reduce air intake is to cover one nostril at a time with your hand.  This is called the ‘one nostril’ or 1N technique.  Almost anyone can do one nostril Equine Breathing. 
    * It is easy to learn,
    * requires no equipment, 
    * horses enjoy it
    * and people find it relaxing and calming.
Equine Breathing enables horse owners to help their horses in their recovery from a wide range of chronic conditions, through their own efforts ! 
However if you have any concerns its wise to ask your vet before starting Equine Breathing so that she/he can advise if its suitable for your horse. While Equine Breathing may reduce the need for ongoing treatment do not change any treatments advised by your vet without first consulting him or her.
March 2, 2009 - Posted by | health | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

