All Things Horse

Forty-seven Years Of Horse Experience – At Your Service!

I Can’t Believe It’s A Painting!!!

I found this cool new site…, well not actually found since I was pointed in the right direction, lol. But the site is owned and run by my sister, who sent me the URL, http://www.icantbelieveitsapainting.com.

My sister, Audrey is an artist from way back. She studied at the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT) in the field of fine arts. She is a former jeweler, also, and a teacher. Take my word for it, Audrey knows art!

The name of the site is “I Can’t Believe It’s A Painting”. I’m so proud of my sister. She got a number of fabulous artists together, to offer their services. They paint from photographs because they are living in different areas, all over the world. I suppose they do sittings also, but under the circumstances it is easier to offer a service like this, online, by the use of photos. oils_018.171230448_std

I’m always taking photos and I have a few that I really treasure. My sister had one painted for me. It is a scenery shot of Brion Island. It is of a beautiful cliff with a lighthouse on top after a storm. The cliff is being beaten by wild, breaking waves.  I took the photo after an August gale in 1999, when I worked as a tourist guide to the Ecological Reserve of Brion Island.

I wanted to show another horse from the Giddy Up Pony Camp, and Audrey had given me the perfect way to do so. This is a painting of Joe. Pretty, isn’t he! Joe is a registered Paint stallion and he is a prominent member at Giddy Up Acres. Joe is so gentle and lay-back, he can be trusted with the most important cargo, a child on his back. oils_002.171221850_std

Here’s another painting of Joe with Amanda’s father, Cyrus. I honestly thought it was a scanned photograph. The likeness of Cyrus and Joe to reality is stunning! I can’t believe it’s a painting! (Cyrus is a tall man)oils_011.177220840_std

Here is a painting of my fabulous niece, Amanda Currie-Poirier, owner of the Giddy Up Pony Camp and her horse, Casper’s Haunting You. Amanda is the person I’ve wrote about in other posts. (lol, she looks like me!)oils_012.171222909_std

If you’re interested in knowing more about these fine artists, who do such wonderful paintings, my advice is to go to the website, I Can’t Believe It’s A Painting and take a look for yourself. All the information is there on how to acquire a beautiful painting of your own special horse, person, scenery, or anything else that is special to you.

I Honestly Can’t Believe It’s A Painting!!!

(please take note that the horizontal lines in the photos of the paintings are caused by the scanner/printer or computer. The lines don’t exist on the paintings. As usual the photos don’t do the paintings justice. I know, because I have the painting of Brion Island above my computer and I compared it closely.)

May 28, 2009 - Posted by | horsing around | , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Wow, amazing! These look like photographs. They are beautiful. Whoever did these is really talented. Thanks for sharing these.

    Love and Blessings,
    AngelBaby

    Comment by AngelBaby | June 7, 2009

  2. […] Our Pride And Joy! Baby BumbleBee at two days old being introduced to the big world of the paddock. BumbleBee is a Quarter Horse (Busy Lizzie) cross with America Paint stallion, Joe (photo in the “I Can’t Believe It’s A Painting” article). […]

    Pingback by Our Pride And Joy! « All Things Horse | September 28, 2009

  3. […] by I Can’t Believe It’s A Painting!!! « All Things Horse | May 28, […]

    Pingback by Desire, With Wings Attached – Cancer Reasearch « All Things Horse | October 30, 2011


Leave a Reply

