All Things Horse

Forty-seven Years Of Horse Experience – At Your Service!

Meet The Newbies!

Many people have sighed for the ‘good old days’ and regretted the ‘passing of the horse,’ but today, when only those who like horses own them, it is a far better time for horses. ~C.W. Anderson

Bonanza

Twenty-four year old Bonanza is around 15 hh, extremely sound and full of energy.  He is extremely gentle and loves his humans but only after he gets to know them. He is nervous of new activities or lots of people in his presence. If I were to make a stab in the dark about his breeding, I would say that he was Halflinger because of the thick, heavy-weighted cannon bones and indeed his entire leg structure.

Bonanza is a wonderful horses but for some reason, I want to call him ‘George’ and I’ve bit my tongue more then once trying to stop that thought. He reminds me of a George.

Shaman

Twenty-six year old Shaman was slated to be put to sleep this year. Apparently he was in bad shape and had probles walking. He was in serious pain.

Shaman and Bonanza were the last of a riding center’s 30 some odd trail horses, which closed its doors a few years back. The owner kept four of his favorite horses but finally sold two very early in 2009.  Bonanza and Shaman were left to fend for themselves on a large acreage of hilly land.

When I put out the word that I wanted a young female 14.2hh Canadian, their owner asked if I would consider Bonanza because he was putting Shaman to sleep and didn’t want his favorite horse alone. He had seen me with my three, Gimme A Dream, Willow Breeze and Woodmere Frilifili and apparently liked what he saw.  He went into the field with the and found a healthy curiosity about his presence.   He said they were contented horses and he was/is right.

I asked for a week to decide about Bonanza because he wasn’t what I was looking for.  But when what I wanted didn’t turn up, I phoned him and said I would take Bonanza for the winter.  Before he brought Bonanza to me, he called and asked if I would board both Bonanza and Shaman for him for the winter.  Whoa now! This I’d have to check out.

When I went to see his horses for the first time, Bonanza wouldn’t even let us near him. He’d canter with his head held high and his tail held even higher. Lord he was stunning! But he wasn’t the horse I went to see. It was Shaman who was having the problems and I wanted to make certain I could handle anything that might arise. It looked to me that Shaman had broken or severely damaged his stifle or as they say, “Shaman was stifled”.

Since I’ve already worked with repairing the stifle in other horses and Shaman was capable of walking, with a limp, I decided to take the two for the winter. I have the instructions to have the veterinarian put him down, if he develops problems I can’t handle. Barring accidents, I don’t think it will happen. You see, I have the inflammation under control and he walks, trots and canters as well as the rest of the horses now.

The Story of Their Arrival

Bonanza and Shaman arrived during the night of the worst snow and ice storm of the year. Bonanza was soaked with nervous sweat and had to be heavily blanketed. They both refused food and water for a couple of days but they eventually gave in, accepting potatoes at first.  I love giving my horses potatoes and do so frequently, knowing that potatoes will help with any arthritic inflammation that might be present.

Within a week, Shaman was showing no signs of a limp what so ever and hasn’t regressed over the passed three months. I’m so pleased with the old horse, even though I kept calling him ‘Shamoo’. Again, I bit my tongue a hundred times to stop my thoughts and call him by his right name.  Shamoo is a killer whale in Sea World in Orlando, Florida.

January 23, 2010 - Posted by | horse breed | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

